Sanoh named CCAA Men’s Soccer Player of the Year

Sanoh named CCAA Men’s Soccer Player of the Year

Ibrahima Sanoh of the Holland Hurricanes has been named the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association Men’s Soccer Player of the Year.

Sanoh received the award this evening during the CCAA All-Canadian Banquet at the 2017 CCAA Men’s Soccer National Championship, hosted by Vancouver Island University in Nanaimo, BC.

“Ibrah is the type of player every coach wants,” said CCAA Men’s Soccer Convenor David Munro. “He is humble, but his game is explosive and dynamic on the field and he brings everyone to their feet with his electrifying moves and incredible shot.”

Sanoh is a four-time ACAA Player of the Year and four-time CCAA All-Canadian.

He is only the second player from the Atlantic Collegiate Athletic Association (ACAA) to be named CCAA Men’s Soccer Player of the Year. CCAA Hall of Famer Matt Fegan of UKC Blue Devils earned the honour in 2004.

Sanoh broke his own ACAA record this year with an incredible 27 goals in 12 regular season games. He led the Hurricanes to a perfect 12-0 record and first-place finish in the ACAA. Holland went on to capture their fourth straight conference title.

“Ibra is truly an outstanding player who values team success above his own,” said Munro. “In addition to scoring goals, he has great vision and is an excellent distributor of the ball.”

In addition to being a great teammate and leader, Sanoh always makes himself available to volunteer on campus with kids camps and academies. He is also is a member of the Hurricane Watch group which focuses on involving students in local volunteer efforts around Prince Edward Island.

Sanoh has put the Hurricanes program on his back and his tremendous loyalty to the small East Coast program has been greatly appreciated at Holland.

Other nominees for the CCAA Player of the Year award were Keith Jackson of the Capilano Blues (PACWEST), Dean Northover of the SAIT Trojans (ACAC), Kingsley Boasiako of the Humber Hawks (OCAA) and Samuel Salter of the Dawson Blues (RSEQ).

CCAA Player of the Year winners receive a customized ring provided by Jostens Canada, the Official Ring Supplier of the CCAA National Championship Awards Banquet.