Draw for CCAA Volleyball Nationals

Draw for CCAA Volleyball Nationals

For the second consecutive season, the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) will use a two-group bracket system to identify quarter-final matchups for the Men’s and Women’s Volleyball National Championships.

The draw divides qualifying teams into two brackets using standardized designation and the current wildcard ranking chart, which is based on placings at the previous three CCAA National Championships.

Following conference championships, the CCAA Convenor and Seeding Committee, which comprises of provincial convenors from the Pacific Western Athletic Association (PACWEST), Alberta Colleges Athletic Association (ACAC), Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA), Réseau du sport étudiant du Québec (RSEQ) and Atlantic Collegiate Athletic Association (ACAA) will seed teams in each bracket.

The first seed will face the fourth seed, while the second seed will take on the third seed in each group. As per CCAA policy, the host team can choose the timeslot for its first game.

As previously announced, the RSEQ and OCAA have earned wildcard berths to the 2018 CCAA Men’s Volleyball National Championship, which will be hosted by Red Deer College in Red Deer, AB, from March 6-9.

Meanwhile, the PACWEST and ACAC will send wildcard teams to the 2018 CCAA Women’s Volleyball National Championship, to be hosted by the Niagara College in Welland, ON, from March 6-9.

Here is a look at the 2019 draws:

2019 CCAA Men’s Volleyball National Championship

QF MATCHES 1 & 2: ACAC Champion, RSEQ Wildcard, OCAA Champion, ACAA Champion
QF MATCHES 3 & 4: ACAC Host, RSEQ Champion, OCAA Wildcard, PACWEST Champion

2019 CCAA Women’s Volleyball National Championship

QF MATCHES 1 & 2: OCAA Champion, PACWEST Wildcard, ACAC Champion, ACAA Champion
QF MATCHES 3 & 4: OCAA Host, PACWEST Champion, ACAC Wildcard, RSEQ Champion