2019 CCAA AGM Highlights

2019 CCAA AGM Highlights

The Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association held its annual general meeting in Calgary, AB, from June 10-13. Here are highlights from the conference:


Ten new members from the Alberta Colleges Athletic Conference (ACAC) were welcomed into the CCAA Hall of Fame.

Allan Ferchuk (Red Deer College), Al Bohonus (Mount Royal College) and Dr. Robert Day (ACAC) were honoured in the Builder category. Perry Pearn (NAIT), Phil Allen (SAIT, MacEwan, Lakeland) and Cor Ouwerkerk (Red Deer College) were inducted in the Coach Category. Laurie Hockridge (Lethbridge College), Dr. Lana Nicoll (Grant MacEwan College), Wen Wang (Grant MacEwan College) and Brock Davidiuk (Red Deer College) were celebrated in the Athlete Category.

The CCAA Hall of Fame now consists of 56 members, which includes 21 builders, 16 coaches and 19 athletes.

Hall of Fame Profiles / Hall of Fame Banquet Photo Album


  • Mélanie Gérin-Lajoie, George Brown College (OCAA)
  • Duane John, Collège Montmorency (RSEQ)


  • VP Eligibility: Jake McCallum, Langara College (PACWEST)


  • Badminton: Michael Kopinak, Humber College (OCAA)
  • Cross-Country Running: Darcy Brioux, Centennial College (OCAA)
  • Men’s Basketball: Jonathan Lambert, Keyano College (ACAC)


  • Cori Andrichuk, College of the Rockies (PACWEST). Andrichuk served on the CCAA Executive this season as VP Eligibility.
  • Bill Corcoran, GPRC (ACAC). Corcoran served as CCAA Cross-Country Running Convenor for six seasons from 2013-2019.
  • Jordan Richey, NAIT (ACAC). Richey served as CCAA Badminton Convenor for four seasons from 2015-2019.
  • Jeff Harris, Georgian College (OCAA). Harris served as CCAA Men’s Basketball Convenor for 12 seasons from 2007-2019.


The Manitoba Colleges Athletic Conference (MCAC) was unanimously accepted as a probationary member conference. The MCAC joins the CCAA with five probationary member institutions:  

  • Assiniboine Community College (Cougars) in Brandon, MB
  • Brandon University (Bobcats) in Brandon, MB
  • Canadian Mennonite University (Blazers) in Winnipeg, MB
  • Providence University College (Pilots) in Otterburne, MB
  • Université de Sainte-Boniface (Les Rouges) in Winnipeg, MB

Full MCAC Story


  • Campus Notre-Dame-de-Foy (RSEQ) in Saint-Augustin-de-Desmaures, QC. The Notre-Dame du CNDF will compete in CCAA Cross-Country Running in 2019-20.
  • Cégep régional de Lanaudière à Terrebonne (RSEQ) in Terrebonne, QC. The Rafales will compete in CCAA Golf in 2019-20.
  • Cégep régional de Lanaudière à Joliette (RSEQ) in Joliette, QC. The Trad will compete in CCAA Cross-Country Running in 2019-20.


  • Medicine Hat College (ACAC) won the Community Service Award for the Rattlers Athletics Community Engagement program.
  • Seneca College (OCAA) won the Innovation Award for the Over-the-Top (OTT) streaming application.
  • Neil Hooper of University of King’s College (ACAA) was named the Athletic Director of the Year.
  • Lakeland College (ACAC) won the Marketing Incentive Program Elite award for the second straight year.


In 2019-20, all sport programs that have access to CCAA National Championships will be required to undertake ethics training to be eligible for CCAA Nationals. This education is mandatory for a team contingency, which includes student-athletes, coaches, Athletic Directors, Athletic Therapists and support staff, prior to attending a CCAA National Championship.


This season, a new strategic plan will be undertaken by the Association for 2021-25.

2020 AGM

The 2020 annual general meeting will be hosted by the Atlantic Collegiate Athletic Association (ACAA) in Halifax, NS from June 8-11, 2020.


The CCAA would like to thank the ACAC and Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT) for their wonderful western hospitality in Calgary, AB.